My Golden Day in Bologna

Piazza Santo Stefano BolognaLast month, I wrote a guest post on Susan Van Allen’s blog: Golden Days in Italy.  Susan is the author of two books on Italy: 100 Places in Italy Every Woman Should Go and Letters from Italy: Confessions, Adventures, and Advice.  Both are loaded on my Kindle, primed and ready for my upcoming beach trip.  In my guest post, I share some suggestions for how to spend one day in Bologna.  The post was difficult for me to write: first of all, because I have too many favorite spots in Bologna.  Second, the way I would spend a day in Bologna alone is different than the one I would suggest to a friend who has never been to Bologna.  First time visitors should try tagliatelle al ragù, a piadina, and/or tortellini in brodo.  I tend to eat vegetarian and lighter fare, especially in the hot, summer months.  In my post, I tried to offer up a variety of options that included both traditional and contemporary Bolognese experiences.  Third, I have a bike, which means I can zip around my favorite places in Bologna with the greatest of ease.  I wanted to create an itinerary that was feasible for someone to complete on foot.

Check out my post and the other Golden Days in Italy on Susan’s blog here.

One thought on “My Golden Day in Bologna

Leave a Reply

